AsSIST-UK is to award an annual prize of £250 for a PhD thesis that demonstrates outstanding quality in the STS/Innovation Studies field. The Prize is an important way in which the Association supports the work of new scholars.

The Prize will be awarded for a thesis that meets one or more of the following criteria:

  • exploring the links between STS and Innovation Studies
  • links to other disciplines and working across the sciences and humanities
  • different forms of public/policy impact and engagement
  • opening up novel areas of inquiry for STIS


Nominations can be made until 31st January and only PhDs awarded in the past calendar year are eligible.

Nominations can only be made by PhD Supervisors who are Members of the Association.

The nomination form is available here: assist_uk-form-1 (1)

Past Winners

The award for 2019 was made to Dr Clemence Pinel.

The award for 2020 was made to Dr Aaron Amankwaa.

The award for 2021 was made to Dr Matjaz Vidmar.